I Killed Zoe Spanos – Review

I Killed Zoe Spanos I Killed Zoe SpanosI Killed Zoe SpanosI Killed Zoe Spanos


I Killed Zoe Spanos

by Kit Frick
Publisher: McElderry Books
Release Date: June 30th 2020
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Thriller, Mystery

Synopsis:

“The YA thriller of the summer.” —Bustle
 
For fans of Sadie and Serial, this gripping thriller follows two teens whose lives become inextricably linked when one confesses to murder and the other becomes determined to uncover the real truth no matter the cost.
What happened to Zoe won’t stay buried…
When Anna Cicconi arrives to the small Hamptons village of Herron Mills for a summer nanny gig, she has high hopes for a fresh start. What she finds instead is a community on edge after the disappearance of Zoe Spanos, a local girl who has been missing since New Year’s Eve. Anna bears an eerie resemblance to Zoe, and her mere presence in town stirs up still-raw feelings about the unsolved case. As Anna delves deeper into the mystery, stepping further and further into Zoe’s life, she becomes increasingly convinced that she and Zoe are connected—and that she knows what happened to her.
Two months later, Zoe’s body is found in a nearby lake, and Anna is charged with manslaughter. But Anna’s confession is riddled with holes, and Martina Green, teen host of the Missing Zoe podcast, isn’t satisfied. Did Anna really kill Zoe? And if not, can Martina’s podcast uncover the truth?
Inspired by Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca, Kit Frick weaves a thrilling story of psychological suspense that twists and turns until the final page.


Review

5 Stars

When Anna takes on a nanny job she finds herself in the middle of a missing person’s case. Not only does she look like Zoe Spanos, she’s accused of murdering her.

Anna often forgets things. Appointments, conversations, and even events she’s been told she attended. When she’s questioned about her relationship with Zoe she starts to believe she may have actually killed her despite not remembering everything that happened. She doesn’t even remember meeting Zoe but must have if the detectives questioning her say she has.

Martina did have any idea how quickly her podcast would gain traction. As she starts to piece together what happened to Zoe she starts to wonder if Anna really is guilty or if there’s more to the story.

You’ll find a variety of formats between past and present as well as snippets from the podcast Martina has put together. I enjoyed these differences because it helped build the mystery aspects of the story. All the pieces coming together will lead you to a surprise you won’t be expecting!

I would definitely recommend this to those who love a good YA Thriller! It’s got a variety of characters, formats, and twists that’ll keep you guessing from beginning to end!


Author Bio

Kit Frick is a novelist, poet, and MacDowell Colony fellow from Pittsburgh, PA. She studied creative writing at Sarah Lawrence College and received her MFA from Syracuse University. When she isn’t putting complicated characters in impossible situations, Kit edits poetry and literary fiction for a small press and edits for private clients. She is the author of the young adult novels See All the Stars and All Eyes on Us, both from Simon & Schuster / Margaret K. McElderry Books, as well as the poetry collection A Small Rising Up in the Lungs from New American Press. Her third YA thriller, I Killed Zoe Spanos, will release on June 2, 2020.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: