Song of the Abyss Blog Tour Review + Favorite Quotes + Giveaway

Thank you to Fantastic Flying Book Club for letting me participate in the tour for Song of the Abyss by Makiia Lucier! Check out FFBC’s website to sign up to be a tour host!

Make sure to check out the tour dates and enter the giveaway below!


ABOUT THE BOOK

SOTA CoverTitleSong of the Abyss
Author: Makiia Lucier
Published by: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication date: August 27, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis:

Ancient grievances, long-held grudges, and dangerous magic combine in this sweeping standalone fantasy perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Rachel Hartman.

They came in the night as she dreamt, in her berth, on a ship sailing home to del Mar. After, they would be all Reyna thought about: two carracks painted scorpion black. No emblem on either forecastle, no pennants flying above the mainmasts to hint at a kingdom of origin.

Never a good sign.

As the granddaughter of a famed navigator, seventeen-year-old Reyna has always lived life on her own terms, despite those who say a girl could never be an explorer for the royal house of St. John del Mar. She is determined to prove them wrong, and as she returns home after a year-long expedition, she knows her dream is within reach. No longer an apprentice, instead: Reyna, Master Explorer.

But when menacing raiders attack her ship, those dreams are pushed aside. Reyna’s escape is both desperate and dangerous, and when next she sees her ship, a mystery rises from the deep. The sailors–her captain, her countrymen–have vanished. To find them, Reyna must use every resource at her disposal . . . including placing her trust in a handsome prince from a rival kingdom.

Together they uncover a disturbing truth. The attack was no isolated incident. Troubling signs point to a shadowy kingdom in the north, and for once, the rulers of the Sea of Magdalen agree: something must be done. But can Reyna be brave enough to find a way?

Goodreads | Amazon |  B&N | iTunes | Google Books | Book Depository | Kobo


REVIEW

5 Stars

Song of the Abyss was quite the adventure! I did not read Isle of Blood & Bone prior to reading this but I never felt lost. If anything it made me want to read it more now that I’ve finished this one. I enjoyed the world, the characters, and the storyline.

Reyna is one of my favorite characters. She’s intelligent, bold, and knows her way out of any situation. When her ship is commandeered by pirates, and she’s forced to flee, little does she know just how much trouble is about to take place. Reyna has so many wonderful people in her life guiding her towards her dreams and despite being a woman her dream of becoming a geographer is getting closer every day.  Follow her as she goes on a journey across the sea to find those who have gone missing and meet the unlikely characters she encounters along the way. She’ll make new allies and explore new parts of the world all along the way.

Levi is so handsome! He’s the prince of Lunes and when he witnesses a girl pulling herself out of the sea he isn’t quite sure what she’s all about. All he knows is that she’s intriguing and doesn’t seem to say anything about the state in which she finds him. Now that multiple ship crews have gone missing he teams up with Reyna to investigate a colony that is unknown to the rest of the world due to them being isolationists. As captain of the ship his job is to keep every one safe and to ensure the plot they’ve devised doesn’t go awry. He is such a sweet and caring person to Reyna and the rest of his crew. I totally fell in love with him!

This adventure will not disappoint! I hope we get more books in this same world because it’s so much fun!


FAVORITE QUOTES


AUTHOR BIO

SOTA Author

Makiia is the author of historical fiction and historical fantasy for young adults. She grew up on the Pacific Island of Guam (not too far from the equator), and has degrees in journalism and library science from the University of Oregon and the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Her debut novel, A Death-Struck Year, was called a “powerful and disturbing reading experience” by Publishers Weekly, and was a finalist for Germany’s top book prize for children, the Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis. Her second novel, Isle of Blood and Stone, was inspired by her love of Indiana Jones movies and old, old maps.

She lives with her family in North Carolina.

Website Goodreads Twitter Facebook Instagram


GIVEAWAY

SOTA Giveaway

Prize: Win (1) of (3) finished copies of Song of the Abyss by Makiia Lucier

(US Only)

Start Date: August 21, 2019

End Date: September 4, 2019

Rafflecopter Link HERE


FOLLOW THE TOUR

August 21st

August 22nd

The Candid Cover – Guest Post
The Inked In Book Blog – Review + Favourite Quotes
Fictitiouswonderland – Review + Favourite Quotes

August 23rd

Wishful Endings – Interview
MetalPhantasmReads – Review
The Reading Corner for All – Review + Playlist

August 24th

Moonlight Rendezvous – Review + Favourite Quotes
Bookishly Nerdy – Review + Favourite Quotes

August 25th

L.M. Durand – Interview

August 26th

Camillea Reads – Review + Favourite Quotes
The Clever Reader – Review + Favourite Quotes

August 27th

Bookish Looks – Guest Post
Read at Night – Review + Favourite Quotes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: