Screen Queens Blog Tour Review + Favourite Quotes + Giveaway

If you’re looking for a fast paced YA Contemporary that is filled with intense Girl Power than you’ll love Screen Queens by Lori Goldstein!

A huge THANK YOU to Fantastic Flying Book Club for letting me participate in the tour for Screen Queens by Lori Goldstein! Check out FFBC’s website to sign up to be a tour host!


ABOUT THE BOOK

SQ CoverTitleScreen Queens
Author: Lori Goldstein
Published by: Razerbill
Publication date: June 11, 2019
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction

Synopsis:

The Bold Type meets The Social Network when three girls vying for prestigious summer internships through a startup incubator program uncover the truth about what it means to succeed in the male-dominated world of tech.

This summer Silicon Valley is a girls’ club.

Three thousand applicants. An acceptance rate of two percent. A dream internship for the winning team. ValleyStart is the most prestigious high school tech incubator competition in the country. Lucy Katz, Maddie Li, and Delia Meyer have secured their spots. And they’ve come to win.

Meet the Screen Queens.

Lucy Katz was born and raised in Palo Alto, so tech, well, it runs in her blood. A social butterfly and CEO in-the-making, Lucy is ready to win and party.

East Coast designer, Maddie Li left her home and small business behind for a summer at ValleyStart. Maddie thinks she’s only there to bolster her graphic design portfolio, not to make friends.

Delia Meyer taught herself how to code on a hand-me-down computer in her tiny Midwestern town. Now, it’s time for the big leagues–ValleyStart–but super shy Delia isn’t sure if she can hack it (pun intended).

When the competition kicks off, Lucy, Maddie, and Delia realize just how challenging the next five weeks will be. As if there wasn’t enough pressure already, the girls learn that they would be the only all-female team to win ever. Add in one first love, a two-faced mentor, and an ex-boyfriend turned nemesis and things get…complicated.

Filled with humor, heart, and a whole lot of girl power, Screen Queens is perfect for fans of Morgan Matson, Jenny Han, and The Bold Type

Goodreads Amazon |  B&N | iBooks | Google Books | Book Depository | Kobo


REVIEW

This book was so much fun! I loved the hate to love friendship & I learned a lot about the tech world.

Family wasn’t just the one you were born to. It was the one you made for yourself. And remade.

I thought the book did well at portraying the way technology affects society. Pulse is a scary thing and as kids grow up in this age of technology who knows how much more it will affect them socially.

Some people are just plain mean, but it’s up to them to change, not you. Never stop being Cinderella..

Delia is the timid small town girl who taught herself how to code. Her quirky actor parents have owned a small theater but now that it’s getting less and less traffic Delia strives to win ValleyStart so she can help them financially. I enjoyed her character and the small love story between her and one of her fellow competitors!

You’re a true unicorn….

Maddie is a closed off entrepreneur whose parents are going through a divorce & have put her and her little brother secondary to their own ambitions. Her character arc was the best to read because you get to see how she learns to open up and trust Lucy and Delia.

I was giving you a shield when what you really needed was a sword.

Lucy is the epitome of superficial as she constantly checks her Pulse rating. When she finds herself in an unsafe position she’s forced to decide whether to speak up or let the man decide her fate for her. Watch as she realizes that a world outside of your Pulse rating is much more fulfilling than a life caught up in ratings.

The less someone expects of you, the more you can impress them.

This book about powerful women in a tech world filled with men was reminiscent of Moxie and I loved it! It is a great book about building friendships and standing up for yourself and others!


AUTHOR BIO

SQ Author

Author of SCREEN QUEENS, coming from Razorbill, June 11, 2019, and available for preorder now (AmazonBarnes and Noble, and IndieBound) about three teen girls who attend a startup incubator in Silicon Valley and learn what it means to compete in the male-dominated world of tech.

My Young Adult Contemporary Fantasy series Becoming Jinn and Circle of Jinn is a modern spin on the traditional tale of wish-granting genies (Feiwel and Friends/Macmillan).

Obsessed with books, beach, and Game of Thrones, Find me at @loriagoldstein and follow my blog and sign up for my newsletter at www.lorigoldsteinbooks.com, my Instagram at http://www.instagram.com/lorigoldstei… and my Tumblr at http://lorigoldsteinbooks.tumblr.com.

Like my author page on Facebook for fun book-related photos, tidbits, and happenings as well as news on upcoming releases.

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram


GIVEAWAY

SQ Giveaway

Prize (1):Win a copy of SCREEN QUEENS by Lori Goldstein and two swagpacks (US Only)

Prize (2):Win paper doll character cards for Lucy, Maddie, and Delia (INTERNATIONAL)

Start Date: June 18, 2019

End Date: July 1, 2019

Rafflecopter Link HERE


FOLLOW THE TOUR

June 18th

The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club – Welcome Post

June 19th

Moonlight Rendezvous – Review + Favourite Quotes
The Reading Corner for All – Review + Favourite Quotes
Young Adult Media Consumer – Review + Favourite Quotes
Devouring Books – Review
Confessions of a YA Reader – Promotional Post

June 20th

Snark and Squee – Review
Wall-to-wall books – Review

June 21st

The Hermit Librarian – Interview
Book-Keeping – Review + Favourite Quotes
A Few Chapters ’til Love – Review + Dream Cast
Hauntedbybooks – Review + Favourite Quotes

June 22nd

L.M. Durand – Review + Favourite Quotes
Magical Reads – Review + Playlist
Kait Plus Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Musings of a (Book) Girl – Review + Favourite Quotes
Pooled Ink – Promotional Post

June 23rd

The YA Obsessed – Review
Belle’s Archive – Review
Frayed Books – Review
Firstbooklove – Review
Dazzled by Books – Review + Favourite Quotes

June 24th

Morgan Vega – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes
The Clever Reader – Review + Favourite Quotes
Bookish In Bed – Review
Mind of Luxe – Review
Kourtni Reads – Review + Favourite Quotes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: